Bible Versions Questions and discussion about the Bible version issue.

Old 03-17-2009, 10:19 PM

Default Differences in the KJB

1.I just want to to know why the KJB of the Cambridge and Oxford are different sometimes?
2. What is standard for the KJB edition that we should get?
3. Why there are differences in the edition?
Bob
The King James Bible Page SwordSearcher Bible Software
Old 03-20-2009, 05:16 AM

I think the answer is because of different publishers.
Currently, I am a 1769 guy. (That's the "final edition" for the KJV 1611 - spelling updates). But no, the words ought not be changed, which is the difference between an "edition" and a "revision" (modern versions).
if there are word differences, I'm sure there are "experts" in this forum who has well-studied the issue. So, hold on.
Old 03-20-2009, 07:06 AM

I am no expert on changes, but I can site a few things. The 1967 New Scofield for one, has word changes, and some alternate readings. There have been printer/editor changes in some KJV's, after the 1769 date.

Someone will comment on the 1885 edition, which there was none ( actually the RSV of 1885, some called a KJV). But there was an 1883 edition, called Lincoln's Bible supposedly a KJV, but wasn't; it was actually a reprint of the Geneva Bible. The one Obama was sworn into office on.

Some later Cambridge Bibles have had word updates (I'll catch it on that one). But I read of one occurrence where someone purchased one, and found it not as he had expected (word changes, not his Grandmothers Bible), and he returned it. In fact he went so far as to show them, and the original words he had expected.