Bible Studies Post and discuss short Bible studies.

Old 09-02-2008, 11:04 AM

Default The Inconvenience of Reading God's Word

I pray you are encourage by this post. Be honest. Is reading the Holy Scriptures a duty? Maybe a burden or even a hassle? Perhaps something you need to “get out of the way” before you start your day?

I’ll be honest. Years ago I usually read Scripture because I had a Sunday school lesson or a sermon to deliver. In those days I taught Sunday school and preached two services. I did not want to be “totally” humiliated by looking like an idiot, so I studied the Word and then read some commentary, and put a nice little three or four point sermon together (with a poem). In truth, I needed the response from others so I could measure its success or failure. One time a dear, older Christian lady said, as she patted me on the hand, “You tried!” Knowing her, she really meant well, but God spoke to my heart. “You tried.” I thought, that’s the problem, “I tried.” My pattern of diligent preparation continued, and although God used His Word to bring people to Christ and encourage them in the faith, I was miserable. God seemed so distant and impersonal even in the midst of committed Bible study and sermon preparation.

How about it? Is the Bible a drudge? Do you read the Scriptures and gain some intellectual knowledge but fail to really sense the very presence of God? Do you have your daily quiet time, check the box, and feel spiritual for doing your duty? Or are you like so many today that never pick up their Bible until Sunday at church?